header logo

Philip Pullman Books in Order (46 Book Series)

Ancient civilizationsAladdin and the Enchanted LampClockwork

Philip Pullman has written a series of 46 books. Here, you can see them all in order! (plus the year each book was published)

As an Amazon Associate, we earn money from purchases made through links in this page.

    Total: 46 books
    1. 23


      Philip Pullman

    2. 26

      I Was a Rat!

      Philip Pullman

    3. 34

      Four Tales

      Philip Pullman

    Buy all booksUS Only

    46 books in this series

    Add 46 books to Amazon cart


    • What order should I read the Philip Pullman books in?

      To fully appreciate Philip Pullman's complex and magical world, you should read the "His Dark Materials" trilogy first. This means starting with "Northern Lights" (also known as "The Golden Compass" in North America), followed by "The Subtle Knife," and finally "The Amber Spyglass." After that, move on to the companion books and the new "Book of Dust" series.

    • I've heard a lot about the dark materials series by this author, but I'm not sure where to start. Can you guide me?

      Of course! The "Dark Materials" books by Philip Pullman are a highly acclaimed fantasy series for young readers, often considered classics of the genre. The best order to read the series in is the chronological order of the story world. This means starting with "La Belle Sauvage" (Book of Dust Volume 1), then "Northern Lights" (His Dark Materials Book 1), "The Subtle Knife" (His Dark Materials Book 2), "The Amber Spyglass" (His Dark Materials Book 3), and finally "The Secret Commonwealth" (Book of Dust Volume 2).

    • I just picked up a book from the dark materials series and found Lyra, a young girl, as the protagonist. Could you give me a synopsis of Lyra's role in this series?

      Lyra Belacqua, later known as Lyra Silvertongue, is the central character in Philip Pullman's "His Dark Materials" trilogy. She's an adventurous young girl from Oxford who embarks on a perilous journey to the North to save her kidnapped friend and winds up on a quest to understand a mysterious phenomenon called Dust. She is an integral part of the storyline and her adventures, dilemmas, and growth are central to the series.

    • I am a little confused about the order of the dark materials series. Could you clarify?

      Absolutely. The "His Dark Materials" trilogy begins with "Northern Lights," followed by "The Subtle Knife" and "The Amber Spyglass." Pullman then wrote two companion books: "Lyra's Oxford" and "Once Upon a Time in the North." Afterward, he embarked on a new series called "The Book of Dust," a prequel and sequel to the original trilogy. Its books are "La Belle Sauvage" and "The Secret Commonwealth," with a third book on the way.

    • I have heard that the author has written more books featuring the character Lyra. What are these books, and in what order should I read them?

      After the "His Dark Materials" trilogy, Philip Pullman wrote two companion books: "Lyra's Oxford," a short story set two years after the end of the trilogy, and "Once Upon a Time in the North," a prequel to the trilogy that doesn't feature Lyra but provides backstory to some key characters. He has since started a new trilogy called "The Book of Dust," which is a companion to the original trilogy. The first volume, "La Belle Sauvage," is set when Lyra is a baby, and the second volume, "The Secret Commonwealth," takes place after the events of "His Dark Materials."

    • What is the difference between the hardcover and paperback versions of Philip Pullman's books?

      The primary difference between hardcover and paperback versions of Philip Pullman's books is the binding. Hardcover books have a sturdy cover and are bound with great care, making them more durable but also more expensive. Paperback books have a softer cover and are usually less expensive, making them a popular choice for everyday reading. The content of the books, however, remains the same regardless of the cover type.

    • I've read all the books featuring Lyra. What other works has this author written?

      Besides the "His Dark Materials" trilogy and "The Book of Dust" series, Philip Pullman has written a number of other books. These include "The Sally Lockhart Quartet," a series of Victorian-era detective novels; "Fairy Tales from the Brothers Grimm," a new translation; and "Daemon Voices," a collection of essays. He's also written a variety of standalone novels, plays, and picture books.

    • Where can I find reviews for Philip Pullman's books?

      There are many places you can find reviews for Philip Pullman's books. You could start by looking on book retailer websites, like Amazon or Barnes & Noble, where users often leave reviews. There are also book review websites, such as Goodreads, and literary publications, like The New York Times Book Review or The Guardian. Sometimes, fellow readers on social media platforms also provide insightful reviews.

    • Are the "His Dark Materials" books suitable for young readers?

      While the "His Dark Materials" trilogy does deal with some complex themes, they are generally considered suitable for young adults and older children. Philip Pullman himself has stated that he doesn't write with a specific age group in mind, and the books have been enjoyed by readers of all ages. However, as with any book, it's always a good idea for parents or guardians to read the book first to make sure it's appropriate for their child's specific age and maturity level.