header logo

Terry Brooks Books in Order (48 Book Series)


Terry Brooks has written a series of 48 books. Here, you can see them all in order! (plus the year each book was published)

As an Amazon Associate, we earn money from purchases made through links in this page.

    Total: 48 books
    Buy all booksUS Only

    48 books in this series

    Add 48 books to Amazon cart


    • What is the Shannara timeline and what does it consist of in the literary world of Terry Brooks?

      The Shannara timeline is an epic chronology of events and stories that unfold in the world of Shannara, an epic fantasy series written by Terry Brooks. It consists of multiple series and standalone books that are interconnected yet can be read independently.

    • As a new reader to this author's work, in what order should I read the Terry Brooks books?

      If you're new to Terry Brooks's work, the Shannara books in order is an excellent place to start. The first book in the timeline is "The Sword of Shannara", followed by the rest of the original Shannara series, and then extended into the prequels, sequels, and short story collections.

    • What is unique about the fiction novels of Terry Brooks?

      Terry Brooks's novels are known for their intricate plotting, rich world-building, and memorable characters. They combine elements of epic fantasy, romance, and adventure, making them appealing to a wide range of readers. His fiction takes you on a breathtaking journey through an imaginatively constructed universe.

    • What is the significance of the series view when looking into Terry Brooks books?

      The series view provides a comprehensive look into the chronological order of Terry Brooks's Shannara series. It allows for easier navigation and understanding of the Shannara timeline and the progression of the stories and characters within them. It should make your reading journey through the world of Shannara a little smoother.

    • Are Terry Brooks books available for reading on Kindle?

      Yes, many of Terry Brooks's books, including the Shannara series, are available for reading on Kindle. The Kindle publication of the books provides added convenience for readers who prefer e-books. In some cases, it even includes books subcategories and additional content not found in the paperback versions.

    • When was the Shannara series first published and in what order should I read the books?

      The first book in the Shannara series, "The Sword of Shannara", was published in January 1977. If you're following the publication order, this would be your starting point. However, if you're reading in chronological order, you would start with the prequel, "First King of Shannara". Either way, you're in for an epic fantasy ride.

    • Is the Shannara series considered a top series by the author Terry Brooks?

      Absolutely! The Shannara series is considered one of the top series written by Terry Brooks. It's his most popular and longest-running series, with numerous standalone novels and sub-series that have captivated readers around the world.

    • Are there any romance elements in Terry Brooks books?

      Yes, many of Terry Brooks's books, including the Shannara series, incorporate elements of romance. These romantic subplots add depth to the characters and richness to the storytelling, making the series relatable and engaging to readers of all genres.

    • Can I find short stories in the Shannara series by Terry Brooks?

      Yes, apart from the full-length novels, Terry Brooks has also added short stories to the Shannara series. These short stories often provide unique insights into the characters and the world of Shannara, making them a must-read for any fan of the series.