header logo

James Lee Burke Books in Order (42 Book Series)


James Lee Burke has written a series of 42 books. Here, you can see them all in order! (plus the year each book was published)

As an Amazon Associate, we earn money from purchases made through links in this page.

    Total: 42 books
    1. 4

      Two for Texas

      James Lee Burke

    Buy all booksUS Only

    42 books in this series

    Add 42 books to Amazon cart


    • Who is James Lee Burke and what can you tell me about his books?

      James Lee Burke is an acclaimed author known for his mystery novels. He has penned numerous books, with a significant number of them belonging to the popular Dave Robicheaux series. The Robicheaux books are centered on the character of Detective Dave Robicheaux, who is a police officer in New Orleans. These books have been praised for their compelling stories and rich, historical elements.

    • How should I read the James Lee Burke novels to understand the series and their storylines better?

      It is recommended to read James Lee Burke’s novels in the order they were published. This allows the reader to follow the progression of characters and storylines across the series. Reading the books in order also provides a deeper understanding of the themes and narratives that permeate Burke's fiction.

    • What is the correct order of the Robicheaux books for reading?

      The first book in the Robicheaux series was published in 1987, and it is titled 'The Neon Rain'. This series has over 20 books to its credit, with the latest one being published in 2020. To get the most out of these mystery novels, readers should start from 'The Neon Rain' and proceed in the order they were published.

    • Can you provide some details about the Holland series, another one of James Lee Burke's creations?

      The Holland series by James Lee Burke focuses on the lives of the Holland family members. These books, set in Texas, showcase the family’s law enforcement and legal careers. It’s a great blend of mystery, crime, and family dynamics that captivates readers.

    • Could you tell me more about Dave, a recurring character in James Lee Burke's books?

      Dave Robicheaux is a protagonist in many of James Lee Burke's novels. He is a complex character, a police officer in New Orleans who often finds himself dealing with issues of justice, morality, and the law. His character development throughout the series provides a riveting angle to Burke's mystery stories.

    • Is it necessary to read the James Lee Burke books in order?

      While you can enjoy James Lee Burke's novels as standalone stories, reading them in order will provide more depth and continuity to the character arcs and overarching narratives. The chronological progression enhances the reading experience, allowing readers to fully immerse themselves in the intricate universe Burke has created.

    • Are all the James Lee Burke novels mystery stories?

      James Lee Burke is renowned for his mystery novels, especially the Dave Robicheaux series. However, he has also written historical novels, as depicted in the Holland series. Regardless, his skills in weaving gripping narratives and unforgettable characters remain consistent across genres.

    • Are there any romance elements in James Lee Burke's books?

      While James Lee Burke’s primary genre is mystery, some of his books do contain elements of romance. These elements often serve to deepen the character relationships and add an extra layer to the intricate storylines he presents.

    • Has James Lee Burke received any awards for his novels?

      Yes, James Lee Burke is a celebrated author who has received numerous awards for his novels. He has been honored with the Edgar Award, which is considered one of the highest accolades in the mystery genre. His remarkable storytelling and distinct writing style have cemented his place in the realm of mystery fiction.