header logo

Horus Heresy Books in Order (93 Book Series)

A Thousand SonsA Rose Watered with BloodAbyssal

Horus Heresy is a series of 93 books written by 19 authors. Here, you can see them all in order! (plus the year each book was published)

As an Amazon Associate, we earn money from purchases made through links in this page.

    Total: 93 books
    Buy all booksUS Only

    93 books in this series

    Add 93 books to Amazon cart


    • I'm new here. Can you tell me about the "Horus Heresy" books I keep hearing about?

      Absolutely, welcome aboard! The Horus Heresy books are a collection of novels, novellas, and short stories set in the Warhammer 40,000 universe. Written by several authors, the series charts the history of the Horus Heresy, a galaxy-spanning civil war that serves as the cornerstone of Warhammer 40,000's lore.

    • I'm intrigued. What's the reading order of the Horus Heresy books?

      The recommended Horus Heresy reading order starts with "Horus Rising" by Dan Abnett, followed by "False Gods" written by McNeill Graham, and then "Galaxy in Flames" penned by Ben Counter. The series of books continue in that pattern, mostly, with some variations depending on the plot threads and authors involved.

    • Is there a plot summary available for these books?

      Yes. Each book in the Horus Heresy series dives into a specific part of this sprawling, chaotic war. The main plot revolves around the titular character, Horus Lupercal, and his fall from grace. From Horus Rising to the latest releases, plot twists, betrayals, and epic battles are the order of the day in this grimdark galaxy.

    • Which book in the Horus Heresy series was released first?

      The first book released in the Horus Heresy series was "Horus Rising" by Dan Abnett. It was quickly followed by other novels written by various authors, including McNeill Graham, Ben Counter, and Swallow James, among others.

    • Where can I get a full list of the Horus Heresy novels in order?

      You can view details of the complete Horus Heresy reading order and each individual book on sites such as Goodreads or Amazon. Details include synopsis, author information, and even ratings by other readers. Some books may also be available at your local library.

    • I've heard that "Horus Rising" is a good starting point. Can you confirm this?

      Yes, "Horus Rising" is indeed the first book in the series and serves as the perfect launching pad for the epic saga of the Horus Heresy. It sets the stage for the main events and plots that will unfold as the series continues.

    • Is there a recommended Warhammer 40,000 lore order to read the series?

      The Horus Heresy novels are generally recommended to be read in the order they were released. However, for those particularly interested in the Warhammer 40,000 lore, there are some specific reading paths that follow certain plot threads more closely, like the threads of Horus and his loyal followers or threads of Lorgar and his own storyline.

    • What about the secondary characters' appearances?

      There are numerous secondary characters in the Horus Heresy series. Some novels focus more on these characters, like "Fulgrim" which tells the story of the Primarch Fulgrim. You can also read more about them in other Warhammer 40,000 books.

    • I can't decide. Which book would you personally recommend to me first?

      As a fan of the Warhammer 40,000 series, I'd recommend starting with "Horus Rising". Not only does it kick off the Horus Heresy series, but it also provides a wealth of lore about the Imperial Era. Just remember to keep a Goodreads rating page open for reference and Amazon view for quick purchase! Enjoy your reading!