header logo

Foundation Books in Order (7 Book Series)


Foundation is a series of 7 books written by Isaac Asimov. Here, you can see them all in order! (plus the year each book was published)

As an Amazon Associate, we earn money from purchases made through links in this page.

11 Recommenders
Total: 7 books
Buy all booksUS Only

7 books in this series

Add 7 books to Amazon cart


  • I'm new to Asimov. What's the best order to read the Foundation books?

    If you're unable to hold the excitement and are ready to dive into Asimov Isaac's world of science fiction, the best way to read the Foundation series is by starting with "Prelude to Foundation", followed by "Forward the Foundation", "Foundation", "Foundation and Empire", "Second Foundation", and so on. It's like following Hari Seldon's footsteps on his journey across various locations, place by place.

  • Can I find all the Foundation books in hardcover paperback and paperback Kindle editions?

    Yes, you can. The entire Foundation series, from "Prelude to Foundation" to "Second Foundation" and all the novels in between, are available in hardcover, paperback, and Kindle editions. Just add them to your wishlist quick, and your future reading schedule will be sorted.

  • What's the mystery and allure of the Foundation series?

    The Foundation series, penned by Asimov Isaac or simply Isaac, is a book series that unravels the mystery of a future society on a distant planet, guided by Seldon's psychohistory. This saga of science fiction, fantasy, and a twinge of romance has received rave reviews and won numerous awards. Each book in the series is a stepping stone into the future.

  • I read somewhere about a second Foundation. What's that about?

    "Second Foundation" is one of the essential Foundation books in the Foundation series. The story focuses on the mystery of the Second Foundation's location and its role in shaping future events. The protagonists' search for answers takes the reader on an exciting journey across various planets.

  • What is the role of the Robot series in the Foundation series?

    The Robot series by Asimov is deeply intertwined with the Foundation series. In many of the Foundation books, you'll find references to the events and characters from the Robot series, adding depth and complexity to the overall story arc. It's like reading two series in the context of one grand future!

  • What's the connection between Hari Seldon and the Foundation book?

    Hari Seldon is a central character in the Foundation series, particularly in "Prelude to Foundation", "Forward the Foundation", and "Second Foundation". Seldon's psychohistory sets the course of the future in these novels, making his character pivotal to the entire series.

  • I want to add the Foundation series to my book series wishlist. How can I keep the order right?

    You can add the Foundation series to your wishlist in the order they were published, or in chronological order as per the series timeline. However, ensure that the books like "Prelude to Foundation", "Second Foundation", and "Foundation and Empire" are wishlist added in the correct sequence to avoid any confusion during reading.

  • I accidentally removed "Forward the Foundation" from my wishlist. How can it be wishlist removed but still keep my reading order?

    If "Forward the Foundation" was wishlist removed, you can still continue reading the series. This book is a prequel to the Foundation series and provides backstory to the character Hari Seldon. You can add it back to your wishlist later and read it at any time without disrupting the chronological order of the other books in the series.

  • I'm a fan of Isaac's Robot series. How does it fit into the Foundation series?

    Asimov's Robot series is a significant part of the Foundation series. The robots' actions directly influence the events in the Foundation's universe. In "Prelude to Foundation", we even find Hari Seldon in a planetwide search for a particular robot. So, for a complete understanding of the Foundation series, reading the Robot series is recommended.