header logo

Sherlock Holmes Books in Order (4 Book Series)

The Hound of the BaskervillesA Study in ScarletThe Sign of The Four

Sherlock Holmes is a series of 4 books written by Arthur Conan Doyle. Here, you can see them all in order! (plus the year each book was published)

As an Amazon Associate, we earn money from purchases made through links in this page.

2 Recommenders
Total: 4 books
Buy all booksUS Only

4 books in this series

Add 4 books to Amazon cart


  • Could you please explain the Sherlock Holmes books in chronological order?

    The chronological order of the Sherlock Holmes books by Conan Doyle starts with "A Study in Scarlet," followed by "The Sign of Four," "The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes," "The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes," "The Hound of the Baskervilles," "The Return of Sherlock Holmes," "The Valley of Fear," "His Last Bow," and ends with "The Case-Book of Sherlock Holmes."

  • Which book introduced Sherlock Holmes to the world?

    The book that introduced Sherlock Holmes to the world was "A Study in Scarlet." Conan Doyle first penned this story in 1887, marking the debut of the character Sherlock Holmes.

  • Why is the Sherlock Holmes series considered a milestone in the fiction genre?

    The Sherlock Holmes series is considered a milestone in the fiction genre due to its unique combination of mystery, adventure, and short stories. Each story in the series presents a different mystery that Holmes needs to solve, keeping readers engaged and always guessing.

  • Is there any romance in the Sherlock Holmes books?

    Conan Doyle did not focus on romance in the Sherlock Holmes books. The emphasis was on the mysteries that Holmes solved. However, there are instances of romantic interest in stories like "A Scandal in Bohemia."

  • How has the history of Sherlock Holmes been preserved?

    The history of Sherlock Holmes has been well-preserved through books, magazines, and even online platforms. Sites like History Hit and Goodreads rating provide insightful information on the fiction series.

  • Where can I find a detailed information about the Sherlock Holmes books in order?

    Websites like Amazon provide a detailed view of each Sherlock Holmes book, including the ability to view details, add books to your cart, and read reviews. Other sites, like the Book Depository and Blackwell Book, also provide detailed information on the Sherlock Holmes series.

  • Who is the author of the Sherlock Holmes books?

    The author of the Sherlock Holmes books is Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. He wrote four novels and 56 short stories featuring the detective Sherlock Holmes.

  • How are the Sherlock Holmes stories categorized?

    The Sherlock Holmes stories are categorized into novels and short stories. The novels include "A Study in Scarlet," "The Sign of Four," "The Hound of the Baskervilles," and "The Valley of Fear." The short stories are collected in five books, including "The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes" and "The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes."

  • Are there any special editions of the Sherlock Holmes books?

    Yes, special editions of the Sherlock Holmes books have been published by various publishers. For instance, Pan Macmillan has published a series of Sherlock Holmes books with unique covers and additional features.