header logo

Ranger's Apprentice Books in Order (12 Book Series)

Erak's RansomDeath of a HeroHalt's Peril

Ranger's Apprentice is a series of 12 books written by John Flanagan. Here, you can see them all in order! (plus the year each book was published)

As an Amazon Associate, we earn money from purchases made through links in this page.

    Total: 12 books
    Buy all booksUS Only

    12 books in this series

    Add 12 books to Amazon cart


    • What order should I read the books in the Rangers Apprentice series?

      The Ranger's Apprentice series, a work of fiction targeted primarily at the young adult audience, was written by the author John Flanagan. The order in which you should read the series starts with "The Ruins of Gorlan," followed by "The Burning Bridge," "The Icebound Land," and so on.

    • I've heard there's a related book to Rangers Apprentice, a series called Brotherband. Should I read this series as well and if so, when?

      Yes, the Brotherband series, also penned by the same author, is set in the same universe and shares a common chronology. It is recommended that you read this series after you've completed the Ranger's Apprentice series to better understand the full storyline and the interwoven tales of battle and adventure.

    • Can you tell me more about the setting of the series? Is Araluen a real place?

      Araluen, the fictional kingdom in which the Ranger's Apprentice series takes place, is not a real location. It's a fantasy kingdom created by the author, filled with brave knights, cunning rangers, epic battles, and dangerous enemies. The series also features other fantastical locations and kingdoms.

    • I'm finding it hard to find the books in order. Can you help me?

      Indeed, it can be a bit confusing. Amazon has a 'view details' option for each book in the series. If you click on that, you'll see an option 'details add to library' where you can easily see the order of the books and add them to your digital library for convenient reading.

    • Is there a romantic element in these books? I like to have some romance in the stories I read.

      While the series primarily focuses on adventure, battles, and the relationships between the apprentices and their mentors, there is a touch of romance as well. It's not the primary focus, but the author does weave in some romantic elements, particularly involving the character Halt.

    • Who is this Halt you mentioned in your previous reply?

      Halt is one of the key characters in the Ranger's Apprentice series. He is a Ranger and serves as a mentor to the series' main character, Will. Halt is known for his wisdom, skills in battle, and his strong sense of duty to the kingdom of Araluen.

    • Are there any other series or books you would recommend after reading the Ranger's Apprentice series?

      If you enjoyed the fantasy element and young adult focus of the Ranger's Apprentice series, you might enjoy the Eragon series, a popular fantasy series that also involves a young protagonist facing battles and adventures in a fantastical world.

    • I heard there's a character called Apprentice Maddie in the series. Can you tell me more about her?

      Apprentice Maddie is indeed a character in the series. She is introduced later in the series and serves as an apprentice to Will. She is the first female character to take on the role of a Ranger's Apprentice and proves to be a brave and capable character.

    • Are there any short stories related to the series that the author has written?

      Yes, the author, Flanagan, has written several short stories in addition to the main Ranger's Apprentice series. These short stories often provide more details about the characters, their backstories, and the world of Araluen.