header logo

No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Books in Order (23 Book Series)


No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency is a series of 23 books written by Alexander McCall Smith. Here, you can see them all in order! (plus the year each book was published)

As an Amazon Associate, we earn money from purchases made through links in this page.

    Total: 23 books
    Buy all booksUS Only

    23 books in this series

    Add 23 books to Amazon cart


    • Can you tell me about the detective agency series called "No 1 Ladies Detective Agency?"

      Absolutely! The "No 1 Ladies Detective Agency" series, written by the author Alexander McCall Smith, follows the life of the main character Precious Ramotswe. She's a detective in Botswana, making the series a wonderful blend of mystery and cultural exploration. This series has a good Goodreads rating, which attests to its popularity among readers.

    • Could you provide some information on the book series?

      The book series starts with the self-titled "No 1 Ladies Detective Agency" book. Precious Ramotswe, fondly known as Mma Ramotswe, starts her detective agency in Gaborone, the capital city of Botswana. From there, the series unravels many interesting and engaging cases solved by Mma Ramotswe. For instance, in the third book titled "Morality for Beautiful Girls," Mma Ramotswe gets involved in a case related to a beauty pageant. This series has a romantic element to it as well, adding another layer of complexity to the storyline.

    • What is the order of the books in the series?

      The first book "No 1 Ladies Detective Agency," is followed by "Tears of the Giraffe," then comes the "Morality for Beautiful Girls" book. The series continues with "The Kalahari Typing School for Men," "The Full Cupboard of Life," and many more. For complete details, add the series to your library book wishlist or view details on Amazon.

    • What do I do if I want to read a book from this series?

      If you want to read a book from this series, you can either visit a local library or purchase it online. If you're going for the latter, go to your preferred online retailer, like Amazon, and search for the book title. You can view details about the book and add to your cart for purchase. The Kindle version is often available for those preferring digital reading.

    • How can I find more about the author, Alexander?

      The author of the series, Alexander McCall Smith, has a rich online presence. You can view his Amazon author page, check his Goodreads rating, or visit his website. You can view details about his life, other books, and his love for Botswana, which prominently features in the No 1 Ladies Detective Agency series.

    • Who are the key characters in the book series?

      The key characters in the book series include Mma Ramotswe, the protagonist and a detective, and her assistant Grace Makutsi, also known as Mma Makutsi. These two ladies are the heart of the series, solving mysteries and navigating life in Botswana.

    • Is the book series suitable for young adults?

      Although primarily aimed at adults, the book series is also suitable for young adults due to its engaging characters, simple language, and elements of romance. Furthermore, the series is written with a high level of morality, which makes it an excellent choice for young adult readers.

    • Can you tell me more about Mma Ramotswe?

      Mma Ramotswe, also known as Precious Ramotswe, is the main character of the series. She is an inspiring, intelligent, and moral character who navigates both detective work and personal life in Botswana. She's a beloved character in the series and is well-received by readers.

    • What is the latest book in the series?

      The latest book in the series, as of a while ago, is "To the Land of Long Lost Friends." It's the 20th book in the series. You can read the review, menu of chapters, and other details on platforms like Amazon and Goodreads. Despite being the 20th book, it continues to keep readers engaged with the world of Mma Ramotswe and Mma Makutsi.