header logo

Mistborn Books in Order (7 Book Series)


Mistborn is a series of 7 books written by Brandon Sanderson. Here, you can see them all in order! (plus the year each book was published)

As an Amazon Associate, we earn money from purchases made through links in this page.

    Total: 7 books
    Buy all booksUS Only

    7 books in this series

    Add 7 books to Amazon cart


    • What is the mistborn series that everyone is talking about?

      The Mistborn series is a set of high fantasy novels authored by Brandon Sanderson. Starting with "Mistborn: The Final Empire," the series introduces a world of mystery, magic, and a unique caste system between the nobility and the oppressed skaa class. This series is part of Sanderson's larger cosmere universe, which ties many of his books together through a shared system of magic and world-building.

    • Can you list the mistborn books in order?

      Absolutely! The Mistborn books should be read in the order of their release for the best reading experience. Start with "Mistborn: The Final Empire," followed by "Mistborn: The Well of Ascension," and "Mistborn: The Hero of Ages." These three books make up the initial Mistborn trilogy. After these, proceed to "Mistborn: The Alloy of Law," "Mistborn: Shadows of Self," and "Mistborn: The Bands of Mourning." Lastly, don't forget the novella "Mistborn: Secret History".

    • Who is the author of the mistborn series?

      The author of the Mistborn series is Brandon Sanderson. Sanderson is well-known for his ability to create unique fantasy worlds and complex magic systems, as seen in the world of Scadrial where the Mistborn series is set.

    • Where can I buy the mistborn books?

      You can buy the Mistborn books in hardcover, paperback, or Kindle formats from various sources. Amazon view for the books is always updated and you can view details, add the books to your cart there.

    • What's the shelf rate of the mistborn series?

      The shelf rate of the Mistborn series is quite high among fans of fantasy literature. You can check out the details, add the books to the menu shelve on Goodreads, and look at the Goodreads rating and read editor guides and comments from members for deeper insight.

    • Is there any romance in the mistborn series?

      Yes, there is a hint of romance in the Mistborn series but it is not the central theme. The series primarily focuses on themes of political intrigue, revolution, and the struggle between good and evil.

    • I've heard Brandon Sanderson's Mistborn books have a unique magic system. Can you tell me more about it?

      Certainly! Brandon Sanderson's Mistborn books introduce a unique magic system known as Allomancy. This system involves characters, called Mistborn, ingesting and 'burning' different types of metals to gain special abilities. Each type of metal gives a different ability, and Mistborn characters can use all of them.

    • How does the Mistborn series fit into Sanderson's larger Cosmere universe?

      The Mistborn series is one of many set in Brandon Sanderson's Cosmere, a shared universe in which most of his adult fantasy books take place. Each series in the Cosmere is set on a different world, with the Mistborn series taking place on the world of Scadrial. While each series stands alone, there are subtle connections and overarching storylines that keen readers will spot.

    • What's the reading level for the Mistborn books?

      The Mistborn books by Brandon Sanderson are typically considered suitable for young adults and up. The fantasy world, complex characters and intricate plot may be better appreciated by older or more advanced readers. However, younger readers who enjoy fantasy and mystery may also enjoy the series.