header logo

Malazan Book of the Fallen Books in Order (20 Book Series)

Dust of DreamsDeadhouse GatesGardens of the Moon

Malazan Book of the Fallen is a series of 20 books written by Steven Erikson. Here, you can see them all in order! (plus the year each book was published)

As an Amazon Associate, we earn money from purchases made through links in this page.

1 Recommender
Total: 20 books
Buy all booksUS Only

20 books in this series

Add 20 books to Amazon cart


  • What is the Malazan book of the fallen series all about and in what reading order should they be tackled?

    The Malazan Book of the Fallen series is a high fantasy series penned by author Steven Erikson. The series is comprised of ten novels, acclaimed for their complex narratives, vast world, and large cast of characters. The recommended reading order is by the published order starting with the Gardens of the Moon book, then Deadhouse Gates book, followed by Memories of Ice book and the House of Chains book, and so on. However, keep in mind that the series is quite labyrinthine, so a book refresh might be necessary at times!

  • As a new member to the world of Malazan, how should I approach the reading order of these fantasy novels?

    Welcome to Malazan! As a newcomer, it's best to follow the published order for an optimal experience. Starting with the Gardens of the Moon book, you'll gradually dive deeper into the expansive fantasy world created by Erikson. The Malazan series is known for its grand scale and complexity, so don't be discouraged if there's a need for an occasional book clear or refresh!

  • I've heard that the Malazan series has a large number of books. Can you clarify the reading order to ensure I'm on track?

    Absolutely, the Malazan Book of the Fallen series certainly has a broad scope with a total of ten main novels. In terms of reading order, you would want to start with the Gardens of the Moon book, followed by the Deadhouse Gates book, Memories of Ice book, House of Chains book, and so on. This published order ensures you'll follow the progression of the story and characters as intended by the author.

  • I'm a fan of fantasy series with multi-dimensional characters and intricate storylines. Would the Malazan books fit my preferences?

    Absolutely! The Malazan series is renowned for its multifaceted characters and the intricately woven storylines. As you journey through the series in the recommended reading order, you'll find yourself immersed in a fantasy world that is both vast and richly detailed.

  • Who is the author of the Malazan series and how have readers responded to his work?

    Steven Erikson is the author of the Malazan Book of the Fallen series. Reader response has generally been positive, with the series garnering a good ratings score. However, like any series, it has its share of criticisms which can be found in the online comments section.

  • How has the Malazan series been received by members of the fantasy community?

    The Malazan series, written by Steven Erikson, has been widely appreciated by the fantasy community. Members have praised the series for its depth, world-building, and character development. Its overall ratings score is favourable, although there may be an error rating or two amidst the wealth of reviews!

  • How does the Malazan series compare to other fantasy novels in terms of depth and complexity?

    The Malazan series is known for its impressive depth and complexity. Compared to many other fantasy novels, it stands out for its intricate world-building and character developments. Start reading from the Gardens of the Moon book and you'll be hooked!

  • What's the key to enjoying the Malazan series?

    Patience and attention to detail are key when delving into the Malazan Book of the Fallen series. The story and world are exceptionally complex, so don't rush through the books. Follow the reading order, take your time to understand the dynamics and subtleties, and you'll find much to appreciate in Erikson's fantasy world.

  • I've read a few negative comments about the Malazan series. How do I approach the series objectively?

    The best way to approach the Malazan series is with an open mind. It's a dense series with a vast world and a complex story, so it's not unusual for it to have mixed reviews. However, if you enjoy complex fantasy novels and are willing to commit to the reading order, you might find that the things Malazan has to offer outweigh any criticisms. Remember, every reader's experience is unique!