header logo

JRR Tolkien Books in Order (45 Book Series)

A Tolkien MiscellanyA Middle English Reader and VocabularyBeowulf and the Critics

JRR Tolkien is a series of 45 books written by 2 authors. Here, you can see them all in order! (plus the year each book was published)

As an Amazon Associate, we earn money from purchases made through links in this page.

Last Updated: Monday 1 Jan, 2024

    Total: 45 books
    1. 21
      Mr Bliss

      Mr Bliss

      J. R. R. Tolkien

    2. 37


      J. R. R. Tolkien



    • What is the recommended jrr tolkien books in order for new readers?

      To fully immerse yourself in Tolkien's books and the rich world of Middle Earth, it is often recommended to start with "The Hobbit," followed by "The Lord of the Rings" trilogy, and then "The Silmarillion." "The Hobbit" serves as an introduction to the lands and characters, including hobbits, orcs, and elves. It opens the door to Middle Earth and sets the stage for the events to unfold in "The Lord of the Rings." After delving into these four essential reads, one can explore additional works by the author, such as "Unfinished Tales" and the "History of Middle-earth" series, which provide deeper insights into his legendary world. These books have remained popular throughout time, enticing readers to walk in the imaginary feet of their favorite characters amongst the stars of Tolkien's creation.

    • Can you list all of Tolkien's books related to Middle Earth?

      Certainly, when embarking on a reading journey through Tolkien's books related to Middle Earth, start with "The Hobbit," then proceed with "The Lord of the Rings" series which includes "The Fellowship of the Ring," "The Two Towers," and "The Return of the King." After that, "The Silmarillion" is an essential read, providing a deeper understanding of the lore and history of Tolkien's world. The power and beauty of Middle Earth really come to life in "The Silmarillion" as it weaves tales of the elvish societies and their struggles. Additional reading includes "The Children of Húrin," "Beren and Lúthien," and "The Fall of Gondolin."

    • What is the publication order of the books in Tolkien's major Middle Earth series?

      Tolkien's major Middle Earth works were published in the following order: "The Hobbit" was first, published in 1937, which introduces readers to the hobbits, and the quest that sets the larger events in motion. This was followed by "The Lord of the Rings" trilogy, published between 1954 and 1955. Lastly, "The Silmarillion" was published posthumously in 1977, offering readers a rich compilation of mythopoeic stories Tolkien wrote over many years. Throughout his career, the author spent considerable time developing the intricate details of each story.

    • Where should a reader begin with Tolkien's books if they particularly enjoy essay style writing?

      For those interested in Tolkien's essay-style writing, delving into "The Silmarillion" is an excellent choice. Although different from the narrative style of "The Hobbit" and "The Lord of the Rings," "The Silmarillion" weaves together the creation tales and ancient myths of Middle Earth through a more formal and expository prose. Reading Tolkien's essays reveals his philosophical reflections and linguistic explanations, such as those found in "On Fairy-Stories."

    • I want to read Tolkien's books about Middle Earth on my Kindle. Which titles are available lord rings in this format?

      All of the primary Middle Earth titles by J.R.R. Tolkien, including "The Hobbit," "The Lord of the Rings" series, and "The Silmarillion," are available in Kindle format for your convenience. Courtesy of our linking to Amazon, you can easily find these beloved books to read on your Kindle and enjoy the timeless tales created by the author.

    • Are there paperback editions of Tolkien's Middle Earth series for those who prefer to read traditional books?

      Yes, for avid readers who enjoy the feeling of a book in their hands, paperback editions of Tolkien's Middle Earth series are readily available. Whether you choose to delve into the adventure of "The Hobbit," follow the epic quest in "The Lord of the Rings," or immerse yourself in the legendary tales of "The Silmarillion," each is offered in paperback form. Additionally, for collectors and those who prefer hardcovers, those editions are also accessible via our Amazon links.

    • What is the timeline of Tolkien's writing career in relation to his Middle Earth books?

      Tolkien's writing career in relation to his Middle Earth books spans several years. He began with "The Hobbit," which was published in 1937, followed by the extensive writing of "The Lord of the Rings" series throughout the 1940s and early 1950s, with publication occurring from 1954 to 1955. Tolkien worked on the stories that would become "The Silmarillion" for much of his life, a long cherished project that was ultimately published posthumously in 1977 by his son, Christopher Tolkien.