header logo

Ian McEwan Books in Order (29 Book Series)


Ian McEwan has written a series of 29 books. Here, you can see them all in order! (plus the year each book was published)

As an Amazon Associate, we earn money from purchases made through links in this page.

    Total: 29 books
    Buy all booksUS Only

    29 books in this series

    Add 29 books to Amazon cart


    • I'm a big fan of Ian McEwan's work. Are his books categorized as horror stories or general fiction?

      Ian McEwan's novels are typically categorized as general fiction, not horror. Although some of his books explore darker themes, they're not classified as horror stories. His work is often marked by intense character studies and explorations of ethical issues.

    • Can you tell me the order in which I should read Ian McEwan's books?

      It's not mandatory to read McEwan's books in the order they were published. However, some readers enjoy watching the evolution of an author's style over time. If you'd love to read them in chronological order, start with "The Cement Garden" (1978), then "The Comfort of Strangers" (1981), and so on. His latest book, at the time of this FAQ, is "Machines Like Me" (2019).

    • Is there a complete list of books by Ian McEwan? I want to make sure I don't miss any.

      Yes, there is a complete list of books by McEwan. His prolific career includes numerous novels, short stories, and screenplays. McEwan's work has been published over a span of more than 40 years, so it's a substantial list!

    • Is there a particular book by this author that won more awards than the others?

      Yes, among McEwan's novels, "Amsterdam" stands out as a winning book. It won the Booker Prize in 1998, one of the most prestigious awards in literature. McEwan's book "Atonement" was also shortlisted for the Booker Prize, and it won the National Book Critics Circle Award and the W.H. Smith Literary Award.

    • Do all the books by Ian McEwan follow a similar theme or genre?

      McEwan's books explore a variety of themes and genres. While some books might lean towards romance or fantasy, most of his work falls into the category of general fiction. His books often explore the intricacies of human relationships and ethical dilemmas, set against a variety of backdrops, from war to everyday life.

    • I noticed that the Pan Book version of a McEwan novel has a different cover. Why is that?

      Book covers can vary for numerous reasons. Sometimes a publisher like Pan Books might choose a different cover for a book to appeal to a specific market. Other times, book covers change when a new edition of the book is released. Additionally, covers can differ between hardcover and paperback versions of the same book.

    • Can you tell me about McEwan's earliest books? What order were they published in?

      Ian McEwan's first published work was a collection of short stories called "First Love, Last Rites" in 1975. This was followed by another collection, "In Between the Sheets", in 1978. His first novel, "The Cement Garden", was published the same year. "The Comfort of Strangers" followed in 1981, and "The Child in Time" in 1987.

    • What was Ian McEwan's breakthrough book?

      McEwan's breakthrough book was "Atonement" published in 2001. This novel, a romance and war story, garnered international acclaim and was shortlisted for the Booker Prize. It's often considered one of McEwan's best books and was later adapted into a successful film.

    • Could you tell me a bit about the author Ian McEwan himself?

      Ian McEwan is a highly acclaimed British author, known for his finely crafted novels that often explore ethical issues and the complexities of the human condition. He started his career writing short stories, and his first novel was published in 1978. Over the years, many of his books have been awarded or shortlisted for major literary prizes, including the Booker Prize. Despite the serious themes in his work, McEwan is known for his wit and his skill in creating compelling characters.