header logo

Dennis Lehane Books in Order (14 Book Series)


Dennis Lehane has written a series of 14 books. Here, you can see them all in order! (plus the year each book was published)

As an Amazon Associate, we earn money from purchases made through links in this page.

    Total: 14 books
    Buy all booksUS Only

    14 books in this series

    Add 14 books to Amazon cart


    • What are some notable Dennis Lehane books?

      Some of Dennis Lehane's books that gained acclaim are "Mystic River", "Gone, Baby, Gone", and "Shutter Island". These books, among others, reflect his expert writing style and his unique approach to mystery and noir fiction.

    • Can you guide me about the proper order to read the Dennis Lehane books?

      Yes, the Dennis Lehane books, particularly those in the Kenzie & Gennaro series, have a particular order for the best reading experience. The publication order starts with "A Drink Before the War" followed by "Darkness, Take My Hand", "Sacred", "Gone, Baby, Gone", "Prayers for Rain", and "Moonlight Mile". This order ensures a coherent story flow, especially concerning the character development of investigators Patrick Kenzie and Angela Gennaro.

    • How does the black bird figure into the novels of Dennis Lehane?

      The black bird motif is not a recurring theme in all of Dennis Lehane's books. However, Lehane is known for his atmospheric writing that often utilizes symbolic elements, like a black bird, to set a tone of mystery, crime, and noir within his stories set in Boston.

    • Is there a connection between Ray Liotta and the Dennis Lehane book series?

      Ray Liotta, though a familiar face in crime and noir films, has not directly been involved with any adaptations of the Dennis Lehane book series. However, actors like Casey Affleck and Michelle Monaghan have brought the characters of Patrick Kenzie and Angela Gennaro to life in the film adaptation of "Gone, Baby, Gone".

    • Has Taron Egerton ever been linked to a Dennis Lehane book?

      No, Taron Egerton has not been involved with a Dennis Lehane book. The author's works, however, have been adapted into films with A-list actors like Leonardo DiCaprio and Sean Penn. Lehane himself has been an executive producer for several film adaptations of his books.

    • In what order did Dennis Lehane release his Boston-based series of books?

      Author Dennis Lehane released his Boston-based series in the following order: "A Drink Before the War", "Darkness, Take My Hand", "Sacred", "Gone, Baby, Gone", "Prayers for Rain", and "Moonlight Mile". This order is the publication order and it's advised to read them this way to follow the progression of the main characters and the overall narrative arc.

    • Are Dennis Lehane's novels all part of a series or standalone books?

      Dennis Lehane's books include both standalone novels and series. The Kenzie & Gennaro series is his most popular. Standalone books such as "Shutter Island" and "Mystic River" have also gained popularity, particularly due to their film adaptations.

    • How does Dennis Lehane compare to other mystery writers, like Michael Connelly?

      Both Dennis Lehane and Michael Connelly are acclaimed authors in the mystery and crime fiction genre. Their books often delve into the darker side of society, featuring complex characters and gritty settings – Boston for Lehane and Los Angeles for Connelly. Each author has a unique style, so it ultimately depends on reader preference.

    • What awards has Dennis Lehane won for his books?

      Dennis Lehane has received numerous awards for his books, including the Shamus Award for Best First P.I. Novel for "A Drink Before the War". His novel, "Mystic River", also won the Anthony Award for Best Novel. His writing has been recognized for its exceptional portrayal of mystery, crime, and noir elements.