header logo

Brother Cadfael Books in Order (21 Book Series)

A Rare BenedictineA Morbid Taste for BonesAn Excellent Mystery

Brother Cadfael is a series of 21 books written by Ellis Peters. Here, you can see them all in order! (plus the year each book was published)

As an Amazon Associate, we earn money from purchases made through links in this page.

Last Updated: Monday 1 Jan, 2024

    Total: 21 books


    • What is the Brother Cadfael series by Ellis Peters?

      The Brother Cadfael series is a collection of historical murder mysteries set in the 12th century, written by Ellis Peters, a pseudonym for Edith Pargeter. The series follows Brother Cadfael, a Benedictine monk who becomes a skilled detective.

    • Who is the author of the Brother Cadfael books, also known as Ellis Peters?

      Ellis Peters is the author responsible for creating the beloved Brother Cadfael book series. Her real name was Edith Pargeter, but she wrote the Cadfael books under her well-known pen name.

    • Can you guide me through the order in which I should read the Brother Cadfael series penned by Peters?

      Certainly! For the optimal reading experience, it’s recommended to read the Brother Cadfael series in the order of publication. The sequence helps maintain continuity and character development throughout the books.

    • Where can I find the Brother Cadfael books for my reading list?

      Feel free to browse Most Recommended Books, where we provide links to the Brother Cadfael books on Amazon, making it easy for you to find each book in the series.

    • I am new to the Brother Cadfael book series. Which book should I start with?

      If you're new to the Brother Cadfael books, it's best to begin with the first book in the series, "A Morbid Taste for Bones." This will introduce you to the setting and characters, providing the foundation for the series.

    • How can I ensure I am purchasing the books of the Brother Cadfael series in the correct order?

      When you visit Most Recommended Books, each Brother Cadfael book is listed in the recommended reading order. Simply follow our listings to purchase them on Amazon in the correct sequence.

    • I've heard that the Brother Cadfael books are not just about mystery, what other elements can I expect?

      Indeed, while the core of the Brother Cadfael series is its mystery-solving aspect, you can also expect rich historical detail, deeply drawn characters, and exploration of the moral questions of the time, providing a multifaceted reading experience.