header logo

Amelia Peabody Books in Order (20 Book Series)

Children of the StormA River in the SkyCrocodile on the Sandbank

Amelia Peabody is a series of 20 books written by Elizabeth Peters. Here, you can see them all in order! (plus the year each book was published)

As an Amazon Associate, we earn money from purchases made through links in this page.

    Total: 20 books
    Buy all booksUS Only

    20 books in this series

    Add 20 books to Amazon cart


    • What are the Amelia Peabody books?

      The Amelia Peabody book series is a popular historical mystery series authored by Elizabeth Peters. The series revolves around the character Amelia Peabody, a no-nonsense Victorian woman who is an archaeologist and amateur detective. The series begins with "Crocodile on the Sandbank," which introduces Amelia, her future husband Emerson, and their thrilling adventures.

    • Can you provide some details about the Amelia Peabody series?

      The Amelia Peabody series is a fusion of historical fiction, mystery, romance, and humor. Set mainly in Egypt during the late 19th and early 20th centuries, the series features Amelia and Emerson's archaeology work and their encounters with various mysterious happenings. The first book in the series is "Crocodile on the Sandbank," and the latest book is "The Painted Queen."

    • What makes the Peabody mystery series unique?

      The Peabody mystery series stands out due to its blend of historical settings, engaging mystery, and romance. Elizabeth Peters, a trained Egyptologist herself, skillfully integrates her knowledge into the novels, making them a captivating read for both mystery lovers and history enthusiasts.

    • How should I go about reading the Amelia Peabody series in order?

      To enjoy the Amelia Peabody series and appreciate the character development and unfolding of the mysteries, it's best to read the books in the order they were published. Elizabeth Peters started the series with "Crocodile on the Sandbank," and it's recommended to start reading from there.

    • What is the first book in the Amelia Peabody series by Elizabeth Peters?

      Elizabeth Peters commenced the Amelia Peabody series with the book "Crocodile on the Sandbank." The book sets the stage for the series by introducing the main characters and setting up the first of many interesting mysteries to solve.

    • How do I get copies of the Amelia Peabody books in order?

      You can get copies to order from various online platforms. Amazon provides an option to view details and add copies to your order, available in Kindle, hardcover, and paperback editions. Alternatively, you could try Bookshop.org, which supports independent bookstores, allowing you to view details, add to the menu shelve, and order copies.

    • Where can I find more information about the Amelia Peabody series?

      For more details on the Amelia Peabody series, you can visit the author's official website or reputable book review sites. You can also check out book stores like Amazon, where you can view details, read customer reviews, and order the books in the series.

    • How many books are there in the Amelia Peabody series?

      The Amelia Peabody series by Elizabeth Peters includes 20 novels. The series starts with "Crocodile on the Sandbank" and concludes with "The Painted Queen." Some fan favorites in the series include "He Shall Thunder in the Sky" and "The Falcon at the Portal."

    • What kind of mystery does the Amelia Peabody series deal with?

      The Amelia Peabody series deals with a mix of mystery genres, predominantly historical mystery. The series is known for its unique blend of Egyptology, archaeology, and classic whodunit elements, making each novel a thrilling and enriching reading experience.