header logo

Outlander Books in Order (9 Book Series)

An Echo in the BoneA Breath of Snow and AshesDragonfly in Amber

Outlander is a series of 9 books written by Diana Gabaldon. Here, you can see them all in order! (plus the year each book was published)

Psst... Want to see the top Outlander gifts? Click here.

As an Amazon Associate, we earn money from purchases made through links in this page.

    Total: 9 books
    Buy all booksUS Only

    9 books in this series

    Add 9 books to Amazon cart


    • What is the recommended order to read Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series?

      It's recommended to start with the first book, 'Outlander', followed by 'Dragonfly in Amber', 'Voyager', 'Drums of Autumn', 'The Fiery Cross', 'A Breath of Snow and Ashes', 'An Echo in the Bone', and 'Written in My Own Heart's Blood'. The order of reading for the series facilitates the flow of the story and character development.

    • How does the Lord John books fit into the Outlander series reading order?

      The 'Lord John' books are a spin-off from Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series. They are historical fiction novels set in the same universe featuring Lord John Grey, a major recurring character in the main Outlander series. These books can be read in between the main Outlander books, but it's not necessary for understanding the main storyline.

    • What is the genre of the Outlander books by Diana Gabaldon?

      The Outlander books by author Diana Gabaldon are a blend of historical fiction, romance and time-travel science fiction. The series is known for its detailed and accurate historical settings, passionate romance between main characters Claire and Jamie Fraser, and their adventures across time.

    • Are the Lord John books part of the main Outlander series?

      No, the 'Lord John' books are a spin-off from the main Outlander series. They focus on Lord John Grey and his adventures and are considered a separate series, although they are set in the same universe and feature some of the same characters.

    • What are some interesting facts about the Outlander series?

      One interesting fact about the Outlander series is that it was initially intended to be a trilogy, but the story expanded and has now grown to include eight novels and several novellas. Another fact is that the main characters, Claire and Jamie Fraser, are featured on the cover of each book in the series.

    • What is the most popular book in the Outlander series?

      While all the books in the Outlander series have been popular, 'A Breath of Snow and Ashes' has been particularly well-received. It won the Quill Award for Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror and was a nominee for the Hugo Award for Best Novel.

    • What is the latest book in the Outlander series?

      The latest book in the Outlander series as of now is 'Written in My Own Heart's Blood', which was released in 2014. Fans of the series are eagerly awaiting the release of the ninth book, 'Go Tell the Bees That I am Gone'.

    • Where can I buy the Outlander books?

      The Outlander books can be purchased through various online retailers like Amazon. You can view details about each book and add it to your cart for purchase.

    • Is the Outlander series appropriate for all ages?

      The Outlander series is recommended for mature readers due to its explicit sexual content, violence, and mature themes. Parents are advised to read the books first before deciding if they're appropriate for their teenagers.