header logo

Little House on the Prairie Books in Order (9 Book Series)

Farmer BoyBy the Shores of Silver LakeLittle House in the Big Woods

Little House on the Prairie is a series of 9 books written by Laura Ingalls Wilder. Here, you can see them all in order! (plus the year each book was published)

As an Amazon Associate, we earn money from purchases made through links in this page.

    Total: 9 books
    Buy all booksUS Only

    9 books in this series

    Add 9 books to Amazon cart


    • Can you tell me about Ingalls Laura and her "Little House on the Prairie" book series?

      Absolutely! Laura Ingalls Wilder, often referred to as Ingalls Laura, is the author of the beloved "Little House" series. This series explores her life growing up in the American Midwest during the late 1800s.

    • What is the order of the Laura Ingalls Wilder's novels in the "Little House" series?

      The "Little House" series by Laura Ingalls Wilder begins with "Little House in the Big Woods" followed by "Farmer Boy," "On the Banks of Plum Creek," "By the Shores of Silver Lake," "The Long Winter," "Little Town on the Prairie," "These Happy Golden Years," and finally "The First Four Years."

    • Are all the books penned by Wilder herself?

      Most of the "Little House" books were written by Laura Ingalls Wilder. However, the final book, "The First Four Years" was completed by Roger MacBride after Wilder's death.

    • How can I get the "Little House" books for my home library?

      You can order the "Little House" series books on Amazon. View details, add items to your cart, and monitor the shelf rate to ensure you're getting a good deal. Both Kindle and hardcover copies are often available.

    • Is there a particular way to read the "Little House" books?

      The "Little House" books are best read in order, starting from "Little House in the Big Woods" and ending with "The First Four Years." This way, you can follow Laura's life journey from childhood to adulthood.

    • Can you tell me more about the first book in the series?

      The first book, "Little House in the Big Woods," introduces readers to Laura and her family. It's a charming story about their life in the big woods of Wisconsin before they moved to the little prairie house.

    • What's unique about the books penned by Laura Ingalls Wilder?

      The "Little House" books are unique because they offer a first-hand account of life on the American frontier in the late 1800s. Through Laura Ingalls Wilder’s detailed descriptions, readers get a clear picture of her family's daily struggles and joys.

    • Have the "Little House" books been adapted into other formats?

      Yes, the "Little House" books have been adapted into a successful television series, and a few of the stories have also been brought to life on the stage.

    • What's the story behind "Farmer Boy," the second book in the series?

      "Farmer Boy" is a bit of a departure from the rest of the series, as it tells the story of Laura Ingalls Wilder's husband, Almanzo Wilder, and his childhood on a farm in New York. It's a fascinating insight into a different aspect of pioneer life.