header logo

James Ellroy Books in Order (23 Book Series)


James Ellroy has written a series of 23 books. Here, you can see them all in order! (plus the year each book was published)

As an Amazon Associate, we earn money from purchases made through links in this page.

    Total: 23 books
    Buy all booksUS Only

    23 books in this series

    Add 23 books to Amazon cart


    • I've been hearing a lot about James Ellroy books. Can you tell me more about this author?

      Certainly. James Ellroy is an American author of mystery and noir fiction. He's best known for his unique style of writing, often incorporating historical events into his works. His novels are characterized by their suspenseful nature and often delve into the darker side of life, especially focusing on the life of cops and their interactions with the criminal underworld.

    • That sounds intriguing! In what order should I read the books of this noir fiction author?

      The order of reading James Ellroy's books can depend on your preference. Some prefer to read by publication order, while others prefer chronological order based on the story's timeline. However, it's generally recommended to read his LA Quartet series in the order they were published: "The Black Dahlia", "The Big Nowhere", "LA Confidential", and "White Jazz".

    • I'm interested in the LA Quartet series. What can I expect from these James Ellroy novels?

      If you're a fan of noir fiction, you're in for a treat. This series is a deep dive into the seedy underbelly of Los Angeles in the 1940s and 50s. Each book presents a multi-layered tale steeped in suspense, romance, and mystery. They showcase Ellroy's talent for creating complex characters and immersive settings.

    • I've heard that the book covers of Ellroy's books are quite unique. Is that true?

      Yes, indeed. The book covers of Ellroy's works often reflect the gritty, noir nature of his storytelling. They typically feature moody, atmospheric images that perfectly capture the tone of his novels.

    • Can I get these books on my Kindle or do I have to buy the hardcover?

      Most of James Ellroy's books are available for Kindle publication. However, if you prefer the feel of a physical book, you can also purchase them in hardcover.

    • How do I add these James Ellroy novels to my reading list?

      Adding these books to your wishlist is a quick process. You can use the "wishlist quick add" feature on most online bookstores. Once you've added a book to your wishlist, you can easily keep track of books you're interested in but not ready to purchase yet.

    • What if I change my mind and want to remove a book from my wishlist?

      That's no problem at all. You can easily remove a book from your wishlist with the "wishlist removed" feature. And if you change your mind again, you can use the "wishlist quick add" feature to re-add it.

    • Can I share my wishlist with my friends?

      Absolutely! You can use the "Facebook tweet" and "tweet pin" features to share your wishlist with your friends on social media. It's a great way to exchange book recommendations and discuss your favorite novels.

    • How do I review a book once I've read it?

      After reading a book, you can use the "reviews add" feature to share your thoughts on the book. It's a wonderful way to engage with other readers and start conversations about the books you love. And who knows, your review might just convince someone else to give James Ellroy's noir fiction novels a try!