header logo

The Black Company Books in Order (10 Book Series)

Dreams of SteelBleak SeasonsShadow Games

The Black Company is a series of 10 books written by Glen Cook. Here, you can see them all in order! (plus the year each book was published)

As an Amazon Associate, we earn money from purchases made through links in this page.

    Total: 10 books
    Buy all booksUS Only

    10 books in this series

    Add 10 books to Amazon cart


    • What is the "Black Company," and why is it significant in fantasy novels?

      The "Black Company" is a series of dark fantasy novels written by Glen Cook. The series is notable for its gritty, realistic portrayal of a mercenary company in a fantasy setting, making it a standout contribution to the fantasy genre.

    • Can you tell me a bit about the author of the Black Company?

      Yes, Glen Cook is the acclaimed author of the "Black Company" series. His writing in the realm of fantasy fiction is appreciated globally, and he is known for his unique storytelling style that often focuses on the perspective of everyday soldiers.

    • I'm new to the Black Company series. Could you advise what order I should read the books in?

      For the optimal reading experience, the books should be read in the following order: The Black Company, Shadows Linger, The White Rose, Shadow Games, Dreams of Steel, Bleak Seasons, She Is The Darkness, Water Sleeps, and Soldiers Live. This order will allow you to follow the story as it unfolds chronologically.

    • What formats are the Black Company books available in?

      The Black Company books are available in various formats including hardcover, paperback, and Kindle. This variety allows readers to choose the format that is most convenient for them.

    • Could you give me an idea of the plot in the Black Company series?

      The series follows the adventures of the Black Company, a mercenary group operating in a complex, morally gray fantasy world. The story is narrated by Croaker, the company's doctor and historian, who provides a grounded and often cynical view of the company's exploits.

    • I've heard that the Black Company series has a long run, but do any of the books run short?

      While the series as a whole is quite extensive, some of the individual books are not as lengthy as others. For example, "The Silver Spike" is a standalone book in the series that is shorter in length but offers a unique perspective on the world of the Black Company.

    • I've seen some mixed reviews on the Black Company series. How can I learn more about these books?

      Reviews are a great way to get insight into a book before you read it. Verified reviews can provide particularly valuable insights. For a deeper understanding, you may want to read multiple types of reviews to get a balanced perspective.

    • Are there any short stories related to the Black Company series?

      Yes, in addition to the main novels, Glen Cook has also written several short stories set in the world of the Black Company. These stories provide additional depth and detail to the world and characters of the series.

    • Is the Black Company series suitable for young adults?

      The Black Company series, while a work of fantasy, deals with mature themes and situations that may be more appropriate for adult readers. As with any book or series, it's best for individuals or guardians to review the content to determine suitability.