header logo

Steven Saylor Books in Order (24 Book Series)


Steven Saylor has written a series of 24 books. Here, you can see them all in order! (plus the year each book was published)

As an Amazon Associate, we earn money from purchases made through links in this page.

    Total: 24 books
    Buy all booksUS Only

    24 books in this series

    Add 24 books to Amazon cart


    • I'm new to Steven Saylor books and interested in his book series. Can you tell me about them?

      Of course! Steven Saylor's novels primarily focus on historical mysteries set in ancient Rome. They center around a character named Gordianus the Finder, who solves cases involving high-profile figures in Roman history. Gordianus' life and adventures are detailed across the series, intertwining fiction with actual events and figures from the history of Rome.

    • How many books are there in Steven Saylor's Gordianus series?

      In Steven's Gordianus series, there are currently 16 novels. The series is a blend of mystery and historical fiction, transporting readers back to ancient Rome where Gordianus uses his wit and skills as a finder to solve crimes.

    • What order should I read the Steven Saylor novels in?

      Generally, readers often find it helpful to read the series in publication order. This order begins with "Roman Blood," published in 1991, and goes through to the most recent novel, "The Throne of Caesar." However, for those who prefer to follow Gordianus' life in a more chronological manner, there is also a chronological order option available.

    • I'm a bit lost. Do you have a menu or tool to help me find the correct order of the books?

      Sure! You can use a book finder tool online to locate the correct order of Steven's books. These tools provide the title published date, book covers, and verified reviews to help you make your choice.

    • Can you recommend any other Steven Saylor book outside the Gordianus series?

      Certainly! Aside from the Gordianus series, Steven has also authored some standalone novels. A good example is "A Twist at the End," a mystery novel that takes readers back to Texas in the 19th century.

    • If I wanted to purchase Steven Saylor's books in order, how would I go about it?

      You could add each book to your cart in order of publication on an online marketplace like Amazon. The published details of each book, including the publication order, are usually listed in the book's description. You can also take advantage of the kindle publication option for a digital reading experience.

    • How do Steven Saylor's books rate among fans of historical fiction?

      Steven's novels have a high shelf rate among fans of historical fiction. His keen eye for historical details, coupled with his ability to craft engaging mysteries, make his books a top pick for many.

    • I love mystery and romance. Does Steven Saylor bring these two genres together in his books?

      Yes, he does! While the primary genre of Saylor mystery novels is historical fiction, there are elements of romance within the series as well. The relationship between Gordianus and his wife Bethesda, for example, is a subplot that develops across the series.

    • Is there any adult content in Steven Saylor's books that I should be aware of?

      Steven's books do contain some adult themes and scenes, as they portray the full spectrum of life (and death) in ancient Rome. However, these scenes are generally in service of the story and are not overly explicit. As always, it's recommended to read a verified review or two if you're concerned about content.