header logo

Sebastian Barry Books in Order (26 Book Series)

A Thousand MoonsA Long Long WayAndersen's English

Sebastian Barry has written a series of 26 books. Here, you can see them all in order! (plus the year each book was published)

As an Amazon Associate, we earn money from purchases made through links in this page.

    Total: 26 books
    1. 12


      Sebastian Barry

    Buy all booksUS Only

    26 books in this series

    Add 26 books to Amazon cart


    • What is the order of Sebastian Barry's books featuring the Dunne and McNulty families?

      The order of Barry's books featuring the intertwined stories of the Dunne and McNulty families is as follows: The Whereabouts of Eneas McNulty, Annie Dunne, The Secret Scripture, The Temporary Gentleman, Days Without End, and A Thousand Moons.

    • Who is the author of these Barry books, and what genres do they fall under?

      The author of these Barry books is the acclaimed Irish writer Sebastian Barry, who is known for his award-winning fiction, theatre, and poetry. The novels primarily fall under the genre of historical fiction, often exploring the lives of family members across various generations.

    • Are there any awards or notable recognitions for Sebastian Barry's novels?

      Several of Sebastian Barry's novels have received prestigious awards and recognitions. For instance, The Secret Scripture won the Costa Book of the Year and the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction, while Days Without End won the Costa Book Award and the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction.

    • How can I make sure I read Barry's books in the correct publication order?

      To read Barry's books in the correct publication order, you can refer to various lists and resources available online, such as author websites, bookstores, and bibliographies. These sources will provide information on the books' release dates, helping you to read them in the order they were published.

    • Can I find Sebastian Barry's novels in hardcover, paperback, and Kindle formats?

      Yes, you can find Sebastian Barry's novels in various formats, including hardcover, paperback, and Kindle editions. These formats can be found in online book shops, retail bookstores, or through your local library.

    • Do any of Sebastian Barry's books contain elements of his own family history?

      Many of Sebastian Barry's novels are inspired by his own family history, particularly the McNulty and Dunne family series. These books explore the lives and experiences of his ancestors, providing a deeply personal and immersive storytelling experience for readers.

    • Are there any recurring themes in Sebastian Barry's fiction works?

      Recurring themes in Sebastian Barry's fiction works include family, identity, memory, and the impacts of historical events on individual lives. These themes are often explored through the perspectives of various family members, creating a rich tapestry of interconnected stories spanning generations.

    • How long does it usually take to read one of Barry's novels?

      The length of time it takes to read one of Barry's novels depends on the individual reader's speed and preferences. However, most of his novels are between 300 and 400 pages long, making them relatively accessible for readers who enjoy immersing themselves in historical fiction.

    • What is the plot of the Secret Scripture, one of Sebastian Barry's most acclaimed novels?

      The Secret Scripture tells the story of an elderly woman named Roseanne McNulty, who has spent most of her life in a mental institution in Ireland. As the institution prepares to close down, Roseanne looks back on her life and reveals her memories through a secret diary. The novel interweaves her story with that of her psychiatrist, Dr. Grene, as they both uncover long-hidden truths and the impact of Ireland's tumultuous history on their lives.