header logo

Karen Pirie Books in Order (6 Book Series)

Broken GroundA Darker DomainOut of Bounds

Karen Pirie is a series of 6 books written by Val McDermid. Here, you can see them all in order! (plus the year each book was published)

As an Amazon Associate, we earn money from purchases made through links in this page.

    Total: 6 books
    Buy all booksUS Only

    6 books in this series

    Add 6 books to Amazon cart


    • Can you tell me about the Karen Pirie series, which is one of the outstanding fiction book series by Val McDermid?

      Absolutely! The Karen Pirie series, penned by the talented British author Val McDermid, is a collection of gripping crime fiction novels. The series revolves around the character of Inspector Karen Pirie, who is a compelling and determined detective. With each book, Karen Pirie solves complex cases with a blend of intelligence and instinct, making for truly engaging reads.

    • What's the first book to kick-off this riveting series?

      The first book in the Karen Pirie series is "The Distant Echo Book". It sets the stage for what becomes a thrilling journey of crime-solving with Karen Pirie at the helm. McDermid author has done a brilliant job in laying a strong foundation with this book.

    • What's next in line after "The Distant Echo Book" in the series?

      The second book in the Karen Pirie novels is "A Darker Domain Book". It is as engaging as the first book, if not more, and continues Karen Pirie's journey as a detective. It's a book that you would certainly want to read and add to your collection.

    • What's the third book in the Karen Pirie series?

      The third book in the Karen Pirie series is "The Skeleton Road Book". A testament to the author's storytelling prowess, it builds upon the intrigue and drama of the series even further. It's definitely a British book that should be on your reading read list!

    • Can I read the books in the Karen Pirie series out of order or do I need to follow a specific reading sequence?

      While each book in the Karen Pirie series does contain a standalone mystery, it is recommended to read the books in order for a more thorough understanding of the character development and overarching storyline.

    • Can you recommend other book series by Val McDermid?

      Yes, apart from the Karen Pirie books, Val McDermid has also penned the Tony Hill and Carol Jordan series. The series Tony Hill and Carol Jordan have received great acclaim just like the Karen Pirie series.

    • What kind of genres does Val McDermid usually write?

      Val McDermid, as an author, primarily writes crime fiction novels, but her work includes elements of romance and fantasy as well. She has a knack for blending different genres to create an engaging narrative.

    • Does Val McDermid release her books in both hardcover and paperback formats?

      Yes, Val McDermid's books, including the Karen Pirie novels, are usually released in both hardcover and paperback formats. Depending on your preference, you can choose either format from your reading shelving menu.

    • Do you have any tips for reading Val McDermid's books?

      When you're reading McDermid's books, it's always a good idea to keep a notepad handy to jot down important points, as her plots can be quite intricate. Also, don't rush through the books. Take your time to appreciate the complexities of the characters and the plot. It's not a challenge, but an experience. Happy reading!