header logo

Charles Todd Books in Order (43 Book Series)

A Casualty of WarA Bitter TruthA Cold Treachery

Charles Todd has written a series of 43 books. Here, you can see them all in order! (plus the year each book was published)

As an Amazon Associate, we earn money from purchases made through links in this page.

Last Updated: Monday 1 Jan, 2024

    Total: 43 books


    • What is the correct order to read Charles Todd books featuring Ian Rutledge and Bess Crawford?

      Appreciating the full scope of any book series often means reading the books in the order they were published. For Charles Todd's Inspector Ian Rutledge and Bess Crawford series, the publication order is the recommended reading sequence. You can find the list of these novels in order by visiting the booklists on our website, where we provide links for purchase options on Amazon.

    • Can you tell me more about the author of the book series by Charles Todd, including the Bess Crawford novels?

      Certainly! Charles Todd is a pen name used by the mother-and-son writing duo known for two main book series—one featuring Inspector Ian Rutledge, a troubled World War I veteran and Scotland Yard detective, and the other centered around Bess Crawford, a World War I nursing sister with a knack for solving mysteries. Both series are deeply rooted in the historical context of the post-war era and are rich with suspense and character development.

    • Who is the main character in the Rutledge series by Charles Todd, and can you tell me more about Ian Rutledge?

      The main character in this series is Inspector Ian Rutledge, a haunted World War I veteran working for Scotland Yard. His experiences in the war shadow his investigations in the years following the conflict, adding depth and complexity to the novels' plots.

    • Does Charles Todd have any standalone novels or are all of his books part of a series?

      Most of Charles Todd's work is part of either the Ian Rutledge or Bess Crawford series. However, the authors have also written a couple of standalone novels. You can find these books listed on our website, with links to view them on Amazon if you're interested in these singular stories penned by the author.

    • What type of books does Charles Todd write?

      Charles Todd is an author specializing in historical mystery novels set around and after World War I. The books delve into the psychological and social repercussions of the war through the lens of gripping mysteries.

    • Is it necessary to start with the first book in a Charles Todd book series for full enjoyment of Ian's and Bess's character arcs?

      While each novel in a series by Charles can typically stand on its own, starting with the first book is recommended. Doing so allows readers to understand the progression of the characters' personal stories and development, particularly Ian Rutledge's and Bess Crawford's, who carry the emotional weight and historical background from their lives in wartime.

    • How do I find the latest book released by Charles Todd's?

      To find the latest book released by Charles Todd, you can check the 'New Releases' section on our website. We keep it updated with the most current books, so you'll always have access to the newest adventures of Rutledge or Bess. And once you find what you're looking for, you can easily click the link to purchase them on Amazon.