header logo

The Giver Books in Order (4 Book Series)

MessengerGathering BlueSon

The Giver is a series of 4 books written by Lois Lowry. Here, you can see them all in order! (plus the year each book was published)

As an Amazon Associate, we earn money from purchases made through links in this page.

    Total: 4 books
    Buy all booksUS Only

    4 books in this series

    Add 4 books to Amazon cart


    • What is the order of the giver books in order by Lois Lowry?

      The Giver series in order by author Lois Lowry starts with 'The Giver', followed by 'Gathering Blue', then 'Messenger', and finally 'Son'. These books, collectively known as the Giver Quartet, are published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, and are beloved by young and old readers alike.

    • Could you tell me more about the Giver Quartet series?

      The Giver Quartet series is a set of four dystopian fiction novels by author Lois Lowry. This series has been celebrated in the realm of young adult fiction for its unique themes and lessons that have inspired readers across generations.

    • How should I go about adding the Giver books to my reading list?

      To add the Giver series books to your reading list, you should first find them on your preferred book retailer, such as Amazon. View the details of each book, then click the "add to cart" or "add to wishlist" option. Many readers also keep a shelving menu on their bookshelf to remind them of the books they wish to read in the future.

    • Are the series and books in the Giver Quartet related or do they stand alone?

      The books in the Giver Quartet series are related. They are set in the same dystopian world and share thematic elements, though they often focus on different characters. The overarching narrative order adds depth to the world Lois Lowry has created.

    • Is there any romance in the Giver series books?

      Romance is not the main theme in the Giver series books, but elements of love do appear. The relationship between Jonas and Fiona in 'The Giver' and the love between Claire and her son in 'Son' adds a layer of depth and emotion to these novels.

    • What inspired Lois Lowry to write the Giver series?

      Lois Lowry is a multi-talented author who has drawn inspiration from various sources. She has expressed that some themes in the Giver series come from her personal experiences and observations. However, the books are largely a product of her creativity and skill in the science fiction genre.

    • Are the Giver books appropriate for young readers?

      Yes, the Giver books are widely read in middle school courses. They offer young readers a chance to explore complex themes such as memory, freedom, and the importance of individuality. However, parents and educators should be prepared for discussions on these mature themes.

    • Can you explain the order of the books in the Giver series?

      The order of the books in the Giver series is as follows: 'The Giver' where we meet Jonas, 'Gathering Blue', 'Messenger' which continues the story, and finally 'Son'. This order allows readers to fully immerse themselves in the intricate world Lois Lowry has created.

    • Where can I purchase the books from the Giver series?

      You can purchase the books in the Giver series from most major retailers, both online and in-store. For convenience, Amazon offers the entire series for purchase, and you can view details of each book before making your decision. Adding these books to your shelf is a great way to immerse yourself in the world of young adult dystopian fiction.