header logo

Temeraire Books in Order (10 Book Series)


Temeraire is a series of 10 books written by Naomi Novik. Here, you can see them all in order! (plus the year each book was published)

As an Amazon Associate, we earn money from purchases made through links in this page.

    Total: 10 books
    Buy all booksUS Only

    10 books in this series

    Add 10 books to Amazon cart


    • I keep hearing about these "temeraire books" by Naomi Novik. Can you explain what they are?

      Absolutely! The Temeraire books are a series of novels written by Naomi Novik. They're set in an alternate history during the Napoleonic era where dragons are used as aerial forces in war. The series primarily follows William Laurence, a captain in the British navy who becomes the partner of a fighting dragon named Temeraire. The series has received top reviews and is renowned for its unique blend of historical fiction and fantasy elements.

    • I'm interested! What is the Temeraire series order so I can get started on reading right away?

      The Temeraire series should be read in the following order: "His Majesty's Dragon", "Throne of Jade", "Black Powder War", "Empire of Ivory", "Victory of Eagles", "Tongues of Serpents", "Crucible of Gold", "Blood of Tyrants", and "League of Dragons". Each book explores a different part of the world - from Britain and China to Africa and Australia - as Laurence and Temeraire navigate the napoleonic war and their unique partnership.

    • What is the shelf rate of these novels? And are they available to read in hardcover, paperback, and Kindle formats?

      The Temeraire books have a high shelf rate due to their popularity. They are beloved by both readers and critics, featuring on the New York Times bestseller lists. Novik's magical and immersive storytelling has attracted a wide audience. And yes, the books are available in hardcover, paperback, and Kindle formats. So, you can choose the format that suits your reading preferences the most!

    • When were the Temeraire series books by Naomi Novik published?

      Novik published the first book of the Temeraire series, "His Majesty's Dragon", back in 2006. The subsequent novels were released almost yearly, with the final book, "League of Dragons", published in 2016.

    • Can you tell me more about the author, Naomi Novik? I'm curious to know more about her and her other works.

      Naomi Novik is a New York Times bestselling author famous for her magical storytelling, rich world-building, and compelling characters. Apart from the Temeraire series, she has also written the "Uprooted" and the "Spinning Silver" novels, which are inspired by fairy tales. Her latest work is the Scholomance series, another hugely popular fantasy series. However, to protect her personal information, Novik prefers not to disclose much about her private life.

    • How does Naomi Novik integrate history and fantasy in her Temeraire books?

      Novik seamlessly blends historical elements with fantastical ones in her Temeraire series. The novels are set during the Napoleonic era, with Napoleon's forces and the British army using dragons in their aerial warfare. William Laurence, a British captain, forms an unlikely bond with Temeraire, a rare and deadly dragon from China. Novik's ability to weave history with dragons has made the Temeraire series a unique addition to the fantasy genre.

    • How many books are there in the Temeraire series and are there any recommendations for similar series?

      The Temeraire series consists of nine main books. If you're looking for similar reading recommendations, you might want to explore the works of other authors who have also successfully blended historical fiction with fantasy elements. Series like "Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell" by Susanna Clarke and "The Bartimaeus Trilogy" by Jonathan Stroud come to mind.

    • Can you explain the menu shelve option for these books?

      The menu shelve option refers to how you can categorize the books in your personal reading list. For example, you can shelve the Temeraire series under historical fiction, fantasy, or dragon-themed novels depending on your preference. This makes it easier to organize and find the books on your reading list.

    • I've heard that the Temeraire series is being converted into a TV series. Is that true?

      Yes, that's true! The Temeraire books are indeed being adapted into a television series. This is exciting news for fans of the novels as it will bring the adventures of Captain William Laurence and his magical dragon, Temeraire, to the small screen. The series will offer viewers a chance to delve deeper into the Napoleonic era where Britain, led by their aerial forces of dragons, battles against Napoleon's army.